Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » master-detail relations guide required (oracle 9i)
master-detail relations guide required [message #510394] Sat, 04 June 2011 14:40 Go to next message
usman_noshahi

hi, my name is usman I am new in developing. I'm using oracle 9i and 6i developer suit
my question is that : can we make relation between two tables where master-table is in form means showing single record
whereas the detail-table is in tabular form , is it possible ?
the situation is like this
master table: student_no , student_name ,student_class
detailed table: book_name , total_marks , gained_marks ,credit_hours , gpa...

detailed block is in tabular form say showing 8 records of books
English , math so on and marks accordingly ..

after execute query in detailed tabled shows 8 books and gpa etc
against single name and roll number field in the master table.
means recored in master table is "usman" and in detailed table it's showing
8 books and gpa etc.

how can I do that ?
Re: master-detail relations guide required [message #510397 is a reply to message #510394] Sat, 04 June 2011 15:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
I explained it recently, here. The only difference is that you wouldn't base both blocks on the same table, but on different ones. Basically, quite an easy task - just follow Data Block Wizard.
Re: master-detail relations guide required [message #510398 is a reply to message #510397] Sat, 04 June 2011 16:26 Go to previous messageGo to next message
usman_noshahi

thanks dear , I got this example already. . .. .
according to the explanation we must have same fields in both the tables emp_tbl and dpt_tbl , and the fields 'emp_dpt_no' and dpt_no must exist in both the blocks .. and in the relation we keep them equal
dpt.dpt_no= emp.emp_dpt_no

like this? I have made it, it works
but I have problem like this
in student information I have name and roll number(in the master table)